News and Announcements

Post Author Picture

Congratulation Alex Rentz 2008 Miss Hockey!

Posted by Paul Gard at Nov 9, 2008 4:00PM PST ( 0 Comments )
High School Hockey’s Alex Rentz of Grosse Pointe South is 2008 Miss Hockey. The exclusive announcements were made Sunday at the 6th Annual Hockey Weekly High School All-State Awards Luncheon when by Christopher Ilitch opened envelopes revealing the voting outcome by boys and girls coaches. Ilitch, president and CEO of Ilitch Holdings and vice president of the Detroit Red Wings, was the special guest speaker and presenter at the event attended by 400 people at the Livonia Burton Manor. image
Post Author Picture

League Scoring Leaders 2008.

Posted by Paul Gard at Nov 9, 2008 4:00PM PST ( 0 Comments )

Michigan Metro Girls

High School Hockey League
Top 20 Scoring Leaders 
   Final - 2007-08 







Angie Chronis

AA Unified 23 26 49

Annie Shepard

GP South 21  26 47

Alex Rentz

GP South  20 23 43

Alexa Quinlan 

GP North 22 20 42

Paige Counsemen

Univ-Liggett       32 9 41

Lauren Walsh 

GP North 18 20 38

Maura  Malone 

Mercy 27 7 34

Emma Hull

GP South 19 15 34

Kelsey Burgess

GP South 12 21 33

Kristina Harter 

AA Unified 17 15 32

Nikki Capizzo

GP North 13 18 31

JJ Chronis 

AA Unified 14 17 31

Rachel Freeman

AA Unified 13 15 28

Heather Sartorius

Ladywood 20 7 27

Caley Chelios

Cranbrook 13 13  26

Maura Gregory

Mercy 13 11 24

Sarah Bachman 

PH Unified 13 10 23
Brianne Glombowski PH Unified 12 11  23
Chelsea Minne PH Unified 10  11 21
Abigail Kienbaum Ladywood 14  21 
 4 Tied with 20        
Post Author Picture


Posted by Paul Gard at Mar 12, 2008 5:00PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

GIRLS ACADEMIC ALL-STATE WINNERS 2007-2008 (From Hockey Weekly)

All seniors with 3.50 GPA and above  (alphabetical)  

Name                         School

Anne Billington          Andover High School
Anna Callis                Cranbrook Kingswood
JJ Chronis                Ann Arbor Pioneer
Amy Coleman             Canton High School
Carolyn Gard             Cranbrook Kingswood  *  
Kristina Harter          Ann Arbor Pioneer
Maria Hartman           Grosse Pointe South
Jenna Huitsing           Grosse Pointe South
Abigail Kienbaum        Ladywood
Kathleen MacDonald    Grosse Pointe South
Alex Rentz                 Grosse Pointe South
Heather Sartorius      Ladywood
Melissa Schuhrke       Cranbrook Kingswood
Annie Shepard           Grosse Pointe South  
* All-State Academic Player of the Year  
Post Author Picture

2008 Skills Competition!

Posted by Paul Gard at Mar 9, 2008 5:00PM PDT ( 0 Comments )
Girls have alot of fun and show off all their talents! imageimage

1st Team All-State

Forwards: JJ Chronis, Ann Arbor, Alex Rentz, South, Alexa Quinlan, North

Defense: Angie Chronis, Ann Arbor, Lauren Walsh, North

Goalie: Michelle Wyniemko, Ladywood


2nd Team All-State

Forwards: Hearther Sartorius, Ladywood, Annie Shepard, South, Kristina Harter, Ann Arbor

Defense: Jacq Roberge, Mercy, Amy Coleman, PCS

Goalie: Meghan Smerecki, Regina 


All-State Honorable Mentions:

Jenna Huitsing, South; Maura Malone, Mercy; Kristen Ruzylo, Northville; Paige Counsman, ULS; Monica Orr, Port Huron; Carly Mocny, Regina; Rachael Lentz, North; CJ Jarboe, South; Janaya Gripper, ULS   


Co-Coaches of the Year:

Lon Grantham and Steve Chronis of Ann Arbor 


All League:

Ann Arbor: Gwen Peck, Rachel Freeman, Kelsey Raver, Emy Guttman.

Cranbrook: Anna Brown, Caley Chelios.

Ladywood: Ashley Ballarin, Maria Rotondo, Elise Sawarski, Abby Kienbaum.

Mercy: Maura Gregory, Stephanie Conner.

Grosse Pointe North: Nikki Capizzo, Katie Latimer, Meredith Chicklas.

Northville: Eve Avdoulos, Megan Brenan, Molly Eley, Hannah Deacon, Becca Champagne

PCS: Brooke Caccevelli, Kelsey Nikkila, Jenny Grodus, Maggie Gossman

Port Huron: Dominique Morris, Chelsea Minnie, Brianne Glombowski, Kersten Jex

Regina: Teresa Smith, Kristen Taylor

Grosse Pointe South: Mary Dosch, Kathleen McDonald, Maria Hartman, Kelsey Burgess

University-Liggett: Jacqueline Nicholas, Morgan Ellis

Walled Lake: Emma Rousakis, Brittney Pasekel, Lauren Hutchinson


Hockey Weekly High School All-State Awards Luncheon
And MHSHCA Coaches Hall of Fame Inductions
Sunday, March 16, at 1 p.m.
Burton Manor in Livonia