News and Announcements


Learn to Curl and FunSpiel
Date: Sunday, November 27, 2016
Time: 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Location: Victoria Curling Club (1952 Quadra Street)

Cost is $16.00 per player or $60.00 per team (team includes four people)
Includes 1 hour of instruction given by the VCC coaches and 1 hour of game time.
No experience, no problem!

Equipment (sliders, grippers and brooms) is available at the curling club.
All participants must bring a pair of rubber-soled athletic shoes that have not been worn outside so they can be worn on the ice surface.

Registration: Note: This event is for VILFHA members only….sorry lads maybe next time!

• Please contact Kate Knappett ( with your
name and e-mail address. If you are registering as a team of 4 players, one
contact person and their e-mail address is sufficient.

• Send your payment ($60.00 per team or $16.00 per individual) to:
Heather Wheatley – 1737 Mortimer Street, Victoria, B.C. V8P 3A9
Cheques should be payable to: VILFHA
E- transfer directly to: with a password as: VILFHA

• Deadline for Registration is Sunday, November 13th. There is a limit of 32 players (8 teams) for this event, so please register your teams asap.


Two upper level umpire courses that will be hosted in Victoria are now available for registration.Course details and registration information can be found online here:

Regional Umpires Course (prerequisite – must hold minimum Provincial rating)
Saturday November 5, at the McKinnon building on UVic Campus. The course will take place from 10:30am-1:30pm and 3:00-6:00pm, with the exam taking place during the latter part of the course.

Assessors Course (prerequisite – must hold minimum Provincial rating, and been actively umpiring at that level for 4+ years)
Sunday November 6, at the McKinnon building on UVic Campus. The course will take place in Room 155 for 2-2.5 hours on Sunday morning and then candidates will head to the field for the practical portion. Exact times of the theory part will be confirmed once a playing schedule has come out.

The registration deadline for both courses is Friday October 28!

For questions or more information, please contact:
Kathryn Pohran
Events and Officials Program Coordinator, Field Hockey BC
Phone: (604) 737-3146 Fax: (604) 873-6488 Web:


Lambrick Park graduate Sabrina Wickware was honoured on October 9 at halftime of the Bridgman Cup final as the 2015 Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Award winner. Wickware has been an active field hockey member in the Vancouver Island Ladies league spending several season with the Lynx Field Hockey Club and most recently a season with the Sailors Field Hockey Club.

Wickware has volunteered as a peer tutor and mentor for Life Skills class for children with disabilities at Lambrick Park and has been a coach in a variety of capacities including most recently working with the high scholl team at Glenlyon Norfolk School as well as the Victoria JUnior League. Wickware has also volunteered at the High Gate home for Seniors and has competed for six years in the FHBC High Performance Regional Program. Wickware has been a multi-sport athlete also competing in cross-country, trakc and field and softball in addition to her dedicated field hockey participation and volunteering.

Wickware becomes the sixth recipient of the award from Lambrick Park following Victoria Hughes (2004), Teagan McInnes (2005), Aly Mackay (2008), Lauren Goodmanson (2009) and Julie Williams (2010).


Stephanie was a graduate of Esquimalt High School where she excelled at Track and Field and Field Hockey. She went on to complete her teaching degree at the University of Victoria where she was a valuable member of the Vikes Field Hockey Team. During Stephanie’s teaching career she was the coach of several school teams taking them to the provincial championship level. Stephanie was an active member in the Victoria Women’s Field Hockey Association right up until she was diagnosed with leukaemia.

As an athlete she excelled in all sports, and could turn her hand to anything. She was competitive, hardworking and inspirational, showing sportsmanship at all times.

As a person she was loving, genuine, and generous, beautiful inside and out. As a mother of three small children she was devoted, as a friend unforgettable. She died in March 1991 at the age of 39, but her amazing qualities as a person and athlete live on in the memories of her family, friends and students and are valued by the recipients of the Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship.

Each year the Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship is awarded at the Bridgman Cup. Previous winners include:

2016 Sabrina Wickware – Lambrick Park
2015 Alexis De Armond – Mount Douglas High
2014 Lindsay Cole – Mount Douglas High
2013 Gillian Kirkpatrick – Oak Bay High
2012 Maddie Secco – Oak Bay High
2011 Kathleen Leahy – Oak Bay High
2010 Adrienne Shepherd – Oak Bay High
2010 Julie Williams – Lambrick Park
2009 Lauren Goodmanson – Lambrick Park
2008 Aly MacKay – Lambrick Park
2007 Kate Shepherd – Oak Bay High
2006 Laura Fairbairn – Mount Douglas High
2005 Teagan McInnes – Lambrick Park
2004 Victoria Hughes – Lambrick Park
2003 Emma Carbery – Oak Bay High
2002 Sandy Barreda – Oak Bay High


The Vancouver Island men’s and women’s leagues are all taking a break this weekend, Oct. 7-9, not only because of Thanksgiving but because one of the largest high school girls field hockey tournaments. The Bridgman Cup has been in operation since 1937 and will see 16 BC High School teams challenge each other for the prestigious title.

In addition, the Vikes women’s field hockey team will host the UBC Thunderbirds for their Canada West regular season match ups. The Vikes and T-Birds will battle it out on Saturday and Sunday (Oct. 8-9) with both games at 11am. Spectators must have tickets (

Full Bridgman Info and Schedule:

Bridgman Cup Tournament Draw
Friday, October 7
Time Water Field 1
10:00 Cowichan vs Little Flower
11:00 West Vancouver vs South Delta
12:00 SMUS vs Charles Best
1:00 Handsworth vs Frances Kelsey
2:00 Kelowna vs Oak Bay
3:00 Collingwood vs Carson Graham
4:00 Shawnigan vs Mt Doug
5:00 Crofton House vs Argyle

Time Rubber Field 3
10:00 Collingwood vs Kelowna
11:00 Oak Bay vs Carson Graham
12:00 Crofton House vs Mt Doug
1:00 Argyle vs Shawnigan
2:00 West Vancouver vs Little Flower
3:00 Cowichan vs South Delta
4:00 Handsworth vs Charles Best

Time Rubber Field 2a
5:00 SMUS vs Frances Kelsey

Saturday, October 8
Time Water Field 1
8:00 Cowichan vs West Vancouver
9:00 Collingwood vs Oak Bay

Rubber Field 2a
8:00 South Delta vs Little Flower
9:00 Handsworth vs SMUS
10:00 Argyle vs Mt Doug

Time Rubber Field 2b
8:00 Kelowna vs Carson Graham
9:00 Frances Kelsey vs Charles Best
10:00 Crofton House vs Shawnigan

Past Tournament Winners
2015 Cowichan
2014 Handsworth
2013 Cowichan
2012 Handsworth
2011 Handsworth
2010 Carson Graham
2009 Carson Graham
2008 Handsworth
2007 West Vancouver
2006 West Vancouver
2005 No tournament held
2004 Handsworth
2003 Brentwood College
2002 Cowichan
2001 South Delta
2000 Lambrick Park
1999 Argyle
1998 Cowichan
1997 Collingwood
1996 Cowichan
1995 Cowichan
1994 Cowichan
1993 Brentwood College
1992 Brentwood College


The Annual Bridgman Cup is fast approaching and will feature several of the top high school girls field hockey team’s in British Columbia. Games run from Friday, Oct. 7 to Sunday, Oct. 9 with the final being held at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday.

The 16-team tournament is hosted across three fields at UVic and will feature Victoria teams Cowichan, SMUS, Oak Bay, Shawnigan Lake and Mount Doug.

The Bridgman Cup organizing committee is looking for volunteers to help sit at the technical table throughout the tournament’s many games. If you are interested, please contact Brenda Rushton at (no previous experience necessary).

Full tournament scheduled attached below.

Photo Credit: Heather Goodman