News and Announcements

Post Author Picture

Superleague Fall 2011: Final Results

Posted by Leo Smyth at Dec 5, 2011 9:52AM PST ( 0 Comments )

Great set everyone!! The support for this even has been so outstanding that I am finalizing dates for the new year. I hope you can all make it!!

Without any further delay I would like to congratulate the Red team for finishing at the top of the charts. I think I speak for all the other teams when I say, “see you on the turf in the new year!”

The finalized results have been attached as a pdf. The top three scorers were Derrick Notron followed by Brenden Bisset and James Kirkpatrick who tied for second.

I will send out Information for the new year at a later date. I hope to see you all in January!!

Post Author Picture


Posted by Leo Smyth at Nov 27, 2011 7:28PM PST ( 0 Comments )

Hello fellow competitors!
Week two of Superleague was a blast! (although a tad chilly). Here are the scores from November 20th along with the overall standings and scorers table.

I would like to thank everyone for coming out to play and umpire and we will hopefully see you this Sunday, December 4th, for the final event of this trilogy!


The Field Hockey BC Volunteer Recognition and Annual Awards Dinner took place on Nov. 4 in Vancouver, B.C. and honoured several athletes and volunteers for their hard work over the past year. Field Hockey BC president Ian Baggott was on hand as the Master of Ceremonies.

Duncan-native Diana Roemer, a Cowichan High School graduate, was named the Senior Female Athlete of the Year. Roemer has amassed 71 caps following her most recent international competition – the 2011 Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico. Roemer has also competed in the 2011 Champions Challenge and the 2010 XIX Commonwealth Games. Vancouver’s Scott Tupper was named Male Athlete of the Year.

During the Volunteer recognition awards, the 2011 Senior Nationals hosting committee in Victoria was honoured in the Event Hosting category. Honoured at the awards ceremony included committee members Ian Batey (Media), Susan Jobbins (Ceremonies), Ali Lee (Media/Communications), Mike Rodgers (Treasurer), Pat Hall (Hospitality), Alison Sweeten (Umpire Liasion), Lyndon Williams and George Kirkpatrick.

As well, the community club awards honoured Anrew Poland, the president of the Cowichan Field Hockey Club.

Congratulations to all the island athletes and volunteers who were recognized.

For more information visit:

For awards ceremony on video visit:

Post Author Picture

Superleague Results - Sunday October 30th

Posted by Leo Smyth at Oct 31, 2011 1:03PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Here are the results from week one of the Victoria Superleage. I would like to thank and congratulate all of the competitors, umpires and fans for the great games on Sunday afternoon.

Below I have posted the game results, team statistics and scoring table. Enjoy!

Results Sunday October 30th

Cumulative Team Statistics
|Team|Wins|Losses|Ties|Goals For|Goals Against|Plus/Minus|
|White |1 |2 |0 |3 |4 |-1|
|Black |0 |3 |0 |2 |7 |-5|
|Purple |2 |1 |0 |4 |2 |2|
|Red |3 |0 |0 |6 |2 |4|

Top Goal Scorers
|Rank|Player|Team|Goals Scored|
|T1 |Matt Sarmento |White |3|
|T1 |Brenden Bisset |Red |3|
|T3 |James Kirkpatrick |Black |2|
|T3 |Gavin Gentles |Purple |2|
|T3 |Javier Virk |Red |2|
|T3 |Derrick Norton |Red |2|
|T7 |Ryan Litnosky |White |1|
|T7 |Amardeep Sidhu |White |1|
|T7 |Arsh Buttar |Purple |1|

Post Author Picture


Posted by Leo Smyth at Oct 20, 2011 1:30PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Greetings fellow hockey enthousiasts!

The Draft for the first Superleague session is complete! Here are the rosters.

White Team – Captain Amardeep Sidhu
Amardeep Sidhu
Adam Cowley
Deep Galhon
Derek Wiggins
Gordy Binning
Josh Brown
Matt Sarmento
Prabh Sihota
Ryan Litnosky
Sean Paget

Black Team – Captain Sam Jones
Sam Jones
Andrew Mackinnon
Aneal Basi
Chris Bell
Connor Martin
Gavin Titley
James Kirkpatrick
Josh Turnbull
Rajiv Dillon

Purple Team – Captain Kevin Laidman
Kevin Laidman
Amit Dillon
Arsh Buttar
Gavin Gentles
Jesse Kaloti
John sharp
Kevin Crover
Leo Smyth
Mick Egan

Red Team – Captain Derrick Norton
Derrick Norton
Brenden Bissett
David Bell
Izak Brussow
Javier Virk
Liam Taaffe
Nathan O’Riain
Tyler Klenk

As a reminder, here are the dates and times for the competitions. All teams attend all sessions.
Sunday October 30th 1:30-3:30
Sunday November 20th 1:30-3:30
Sunday December 4th 1:30-3:30

See you on the turf!

Leo Smyth
President VIFHA