Award Winners for the 2016 WLL Banquet

Posted by Dan Quarella on Sep 16 2016 at 05:00PM PDT

Awards and special recognition prizes were handed out during the 2 hour ceremony. The Ed Cooney Award is awarded every year and is given to one player from each major division and AAA team. It is awarded to the player that displays great sportsmanship and fair play throughout the year. WLL puts tremendous emphasis on this award as the league tries to promote fair play, fun and sportsmanship over wins and losses. The Paul J. Dignan Memorial Leadership Award is given to one player from the major division: “In recognition of young leaders who show a zest for life and lift the spirits of all whom they touch.” Every year, the home run champion is recognized. Also honored are the 10, 11, 12 year old District All Star teams, Urwin Friendship All Star team. (9 – 10 year olds), St Greg’s Friendship team (7 – 8 year olds), Major champs, and the AAA champs.

Here is the breakdown of the awards given out for the 2016 Wickford Little League season:

Ed Cooney Award winners:

Majors Baileys – Bobby Corkery

Allies – Sam Easter

Dave’s – Shamus Culhane

AAA Dodgers – Brandon Richard

D-Backs – Brady Hanks

Nationals – Kate Maloney

Orioles – Colton Lindley

Padres – Kaleb DeAngelis 

The Home Run Champion of 2016 was Luke Porter The Majors Division Champions was Bailey’s. The AAA Division Champions was the Launch Trampoline D-Backs. The Paul J. Dignan award was presented by Wickford Little League Vice President, valued sponsor King’s Crossing Golf Club, and proud father Rob McNeil. Rob presented his son, Danny, with the award by delivering a beautiful speech about what this player meant to the league, meant to his teammates, and most of all, meant to his father and coach. Danny jogged up to the podium to greet his father, who met him with a handshake, a hug, and tears in his eyes. It was a special moment that the McNeil family will not soon forget, nor will the close to 100 guests attending the banquet soon forget. Great moment and I was so happy to be a part of this night. 


There are no comments for this announcement.